Researcher looks for honeysuckle blight

A message from Dr. Richard L. Boyce:
As I noted last year about this time, this year I’m again seeing a lot of honeysuckle leaf blight on Amur honeysuckle (Lonicera maackii) in the Cincinnati area. One additional wrinkle is that I’m now seeing it in an area where I’ve also found a lot of dead honeysuckle. This is an area called Woodland Mound Park, just east of Cincinnati, where I’ve been working since 2005. I did not collect data there last year, so I don’t know if the leaf blight led to these particular honeysuckles dying, but let’s just say that circumstantial evidence is high, since there was a lot of blight all over the area last year. This is also the first time I’ve seen enough dead honeysuckles to notice (mainly medium-sized bushes a few feet high).

Once again, I’ve mainly seen the blight on vigorous growth, i.e., on stems that haven’t yet lignified.

I would ask you to again report any sightings of leaf blight you see on any honeysuckle species. I’ve included a couple of pictures that may help. I spent the last two weeks in in New England, where I mainly saw Tatarian and Japanese honeysuckle, and I didn’t notice any leaf blight there.

================================
Richard L. Boyce, Ph.D.
Director, Environmental Science Program
Professor
Department of Biological Sciences, SC 150
Northern Kentucky University
Nunn Drive
Highland Heights, KY 41099 USA

859-572-1407 (tel.)
boycer@nku.edu
=================================
522166_472240432791047_100000152833332_90845733_1018155585_n527762_472240252791065_100000152833332_90845731_280898892_n

About appalachianohioweeds

My name is Eric Boyda and I am the current coordinator of the Appalachian Ohio Weed Control Partnership. My interests include increasing the awareness of invasive plants and helping individuals or groups plan control strategies.

Posted on June 21, 2013, in Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ouch, does that include all honeysuckle native and non native then? the ones around here are thriving, smell wonderful, I am wondering if the recent cold snap we had might have reduced their resistance to it. lot of the plants around hre got freezer burn.

  2. I’m not sure if it impacts the native honeysuckles, I think everyone is trying to figure it out. I found most all of the exotic bush honeysuckle I’ve seen around Hocking County has it. I have not seen it on japanese honeysuckle though

Leave a Reply

