New scientific studies reveal Midwestern frogs decline, mammal populations altered by invasive plant

http://phys.org/news/2013-05-scientific-reveal-midwestern-frogs-decline.html

 New scientific studies reveal Midwestern frogs decline, mammal populations altered by invasive plant

 Researchers at Lincoln Park Zoo and Northern Illinois University have discovered a new culprit contributing to amphibian decline and altered mammal distribution throughout the Midwest region – the invasive plant European buckthorn. This non-native shrub, which has invaded two-thirds of the United States, has long been known to negatively impact plant community composition and forest structure, but these two innovative studies slated to publish in upcoming editions of the Journal of Herpetology and Natural Areas Journal demonstrate how this shrub negatively impacts native amphibians and affects habitat use by mammals including increased prevalence of coyotes and other carnivores.

 See the link above for the full article text.

About appalachianohioweeds

My name is Eric Boyda and I am the current coordinator of the Appalachian Ohio Weed Control Partnership. My interests include increasing the awareness of invasive plants and helping individuals or groups plan control strategies.

Posted on May 2, 2013, in technology transfer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. buckthornes that produce berries that birds love? by the way when they were able to preserve this sweet water bog behind me that was going to be developed they went in an tore out a bunch of buckthorne out of the park, ohio natural resources hasnt done anything to it since, it just sits and waits. I am curious how these actaully cause the demise of froggies because I would say development and filling in wetlands would have more to do with that then buckthornes of course I know little about buckthorns. I know one thing for sure when I went walking back there before they took them out, I surly hated those thorns, yikes! and those wild roses don’t help matters much with their throniness. they tore alot of them out too but I bet many of these plants are growing back since. anyway the battle against the invasives is lost, to try an reduce or irradicate would cost so much money and time and bureacratic nonsense it is not worth it, we will just have to learn to live with them, it is a shame but we might have to learn to live without some species of animals, hopfully they will be replaced with similar animals of a different species to fill in the niche. myself If I don’t want it I mow it, since I use heavy duty mowers I can get away with not using chemicals. I hate using chemicals except maybe natural stuff like plant oils or vinegar or some similar compond.

Leave a Reply

